Read About It

There are several bloggers in the #MTBoS (Math Twitter Blogosphere) that have written about Slow Reveal Graphs (sometimes called Numberless Graphs or Notice and Wonder Graphs).

The following posts are a good primer on this routine. You can also read some of my additional thoughts on the Slow Reveal Graphs blog here: Blindspots and Asynchronous Slow Reveal Graphs.

Brian Bushart @bstockus
(Oct 2016) (May 2017) (August 2017)
Brian describes his initial thoughts around slow reveal graphs (numberless graphs), and describes some classroom case studies.

Chris Hunter @ChrisHunter36
(New York Times: What’s Going On In This Graph?)
Chris describes using the graphs during professional learning with teachers, including making content area connections. He also introduces the beautiful New York Times feature “What’s Going On In This Graph?”

Jenna Laib @jennalaib
(“Why is the math teacher here for social studies?”)
Jenna offers a vignette describing the use of a slow reveal graph to launch 4th grade work around colonialism and slavery in the Caribbean.  

Ben Orlin, author of Math With Bad Drawings and Change is the Only Constant @benorlin
(What Graphs Reveal (If You Give Them Time))
Ben walks through some of the graphs on the site, ‘thinkaloud’ style, and shares the ‘magic’ behind the routine.
Students have sharp eyes. They’ll catch things you missed, interpret features in ways you would never have guessed. They’ll build on each other, quibble with each other, learn from each other.
Perhaps best of all, there’s no shame in changing your mind.”

Brian @_b_p
(One graph. Ten minutes. An important conversation.)
Brian describes using a slow reveal with his high schooler students in the Bronx. “Through this graph of incarcerated Americans, I’ve myself learned that periodically presenting an interesting graph or data can be another way to build in time for important discussions around social justice and empowering students through math.”

Kassia Wedekind @kassiaowedekind
(Playing Around with Data, Part 1) (Part 2)
(Students as Reasoners in the Hands-Down Conversation)
Kassia describes her experiences experimenting with this routine in the elementary classroom, including in one “hands down” conversation.

Andy Cotgreave @acotgreave
(The importance of data storytelling in the next decade of data)
Andy writes about the power of using storytelling techniques to engage and help adults make sense of data. He references ‘Slow Reveal Graphs.’

Chase Orton @mathgeek76
(Grade 2) (Grade 1)
Chase describes using slow reveal graphs in lesson studies with grade 2 and grade 1 teachers. The lessons continue with the routine to have students generate mathematical statements and questions about the fully revealed data.

Contributors to this site include:

  • Jenna Laib (@jennalaib) — site curator
  • Anna Blinstein (@ablinstein)
  • Brian Bushart (@bstockus)
  • Liz Caffrey (@AsymptoticLiz)
  • DeAnna Collins (dcollins at nafcs.org)
  • Louisa Connaughton (@lpconnaughton)
  • Heidi Fessenden (@heidifessenden)
  • Andrew Gael (@bkdidact)
  • Tanis Giesbrecht (@mrs_giesbrecht)
  • Simon Gregg (@simon_gregg)
  • Kathy Henderson (@kathyhen_)
  • Chris Hunter (@ChrisHunter36)
  • Suhana Kadoura (@KadouraS)
  • Lisa Mellecker (@lkmellecker)
  • Chase Orton (@mathgeek76)
  • Aristotle Ou (@Camboyano)
  • Melvin Lee Peralta (@melvinmperalta)
  • Connie Rivera (@Rivera_Con)
  • Mark Trushkowsky (@mtrushkowsky)
  • Kassia Wedekind (@kassiaowedekind)
  • Chad Williams (@Chadillac60)